[1000 words + 1]

The Pride

So, it’s already been established, Zebras are cool creatures – kinda like the Naomi Campbell’s and Gisele Buendchen’s of the animal kingdom. But dare I say, lions are cooler. In an edgy,  Angelina Jolie – beautiful but deadly kinda way.

We were extremely lucky, to have found a pride of 11 (yes, eleven or maybe I exaggerate) lions, lying across our path on our second game drive. It was kinda neat to be so close that I could hear them breath or whatever. And they sat there, enjoying the attention, giving us a show- I only wish I would have been able to get out of the tour van – just to see what would happen.

We sat still, just watching, maybe it was fifteen minutes, maybe more – I was too taken to count. And then the most amazing thing happened – it was really cool.

One by one and I mean, literally, one then the next, the lions (lionesses, actually) got up and walked away.

Like one – walk, disappear into thicket; then two – walk, disappear into same thicket; then three and so on and so forth.

I wonder why they did that. I wonder where they were going. And most of all, who decided that that was going to be the order?

And the last lion standing seating… I guess she was like the queen be of the pride. Now if only I saw just one maned lion…

Do lions think?

This entry was published on December 7, 2010 at 2:49 pm. It’s filed under Kenya, This Is Africa, T.I.A., Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “The Pride

  1. Love the post. Love the blog. Love you… So proud. 🙂

  2. stevekitots on said:

    i need to head out to maasai mara

What do you think?

