[1000 words + 1]

Updates

And she went quiet again… I won’t even try to explain why – it just sounds like it’s all excuses. Sadly, my love affair with Delores has ran its due course and she is safely in the arms of the one who came before. So now it’s me and the cell phone – and all the many borrowed cams on which I can get my hands. Also, I won’t be continuing with the school newspaper, it was a little more challenging than I expected.

That’s what I am not doing, how about some of the things that I am…

#1, I am reading this amazing book, The Life Guide to Digital Photography by Joe McNally. It’s amazing because first, I got it cheaply – for free, a friend of mine gave it to me. Second, it is soooo easy to read. The preface talks about it being conversational – that’s an understatement. Here’s a slight excerpt:

You know something? I still get frustrated. I still shout at the rain and the sun and the wind when they conspire against my aspirations. When I am frustrated, I entirely forget the time just last week when the sun and wind and a light rain all worked in concert for me, as if I were a conductor with a baton standing before natural elements, not a plain ol’ photog with a camera.

That was two. Third, it has many, many, many pictures. He, he. But I think the thing I love most about it is that I don’t have to read it cover to cover, the chapters are somewhat independent of each other, so I get to jump around and work on each whenever I can/want/feel like it. I like that freedom.

And Joe McNally has been shooting for NatGeo since 1987 (ha! Even before I was born!). He also worked as staff photographer for LIFE Magazine between 1994 and 1998. (Thanks, Cousin Wiki)

Check out his work on www.joemcnally.com

#2, I’m practicing my iPhone photography, just because, as I said, Delores ditched me, and a lens, is after all a lens, right? I’ll try very, very, very, very hard not to cheat with all the post-editing. Try. But, working my way up ought to be fun in a pull-your-hair-out kind of way.

Let’s see how this goes.

This entry was published on March 28, 2011 at 6:01 pm. It’s filed under Chatter, The time I lost my Sony, Works By Others and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

What do you think?

