[1000 words + 1]

Where I’m From

Sooo, I’ve been working on this for more than a year. Actually since I got into college. We have a two-week writing seminar thing before school starts, and one of the prompts is to write a poem “Where I’m From” modeled after one some fancy writer wrote. I hoped my class would get to work on the prompt but we never did – but I liked the idea and started writing but every time I wrote it, something wasn’t quite write. Safe to say I’ve been working on this since I was 18 – time flies… ha! ha! It’s as done as I want it to be. Had to stop myself – otherwise it would have stretched a bit longer – hard not to be brief when I want to write out an encyclopedia.

On the grand scheme of things, I would like to turn this into a photo-story, still working on that, but you are welcome to do it for me.

I’m from red earth, and spiny acacia

I’m from exhaust fumes and “beba! beba”

I’m from crazier-than-Chicago traffic when it is the end of the month

Crazier-than-NYC-traffic when it’s Friday, and it’s the end of the month

Crazier-than-LA-traffic when it rains, and  it’s Friday, and it’s the end of the month

I’m from traffic violations and intersection obstructions

I’m from sun-kissed laundry and queen-of-the-night (Jasmine) perfumed nights

*

I’m from two-for-one pizza on Terrific Tuesdays

Two-for-one burgers on Wacky Wednesdays

Thirsty Thurdays at Sherlocks,

fast replaced by Bend-Over Thursdays,

to anything-goes-on-Thursday,

cos “Thursday is the new Friday”

and more two-for-one Pizza on Friday

*

I’m from street-side meeting venues

And knowing a thing or two about the people walking past,

without receiving an introduction

1/3 from your ‘hood

1/3 from high school days

1/3 from Uni or someone you know in Uni

*

I’m from Floodies

And Safari Sevens

And Bamburi Series

And any other excuse to be on Ngong’ Road watching rugby over the weekend

*

I’m from Toy

And Gikomba,

Junction

And Prestige

From Carnivore

and “Electric Avenue,”

Psys

and Rafikiz

*

I’m from South “B” which is across the road from South “C”

And Southlands which is nowhere near the two

And Nairobi West on the opposite end of town from Westlands

Eastleigh and Eastlands, which may or may not be across from Westlands

*

I’m from tribal, non-partisan politics

Yes and No, Orange and Banana camps and the Rainbow Alliance

I’m from KNUT – affiliated with teachers and not a band

and AA that has nothing to do with alcohol

From KPLC – which more often stands for Kenya Paraffin Lamps and Candles,

than Kenya Power and Lighting Company

I’m from 9 o’clock news bits that could be mistaken for Jerry Springer

and political rivalries that leave your head reeling.

*

I’m from Nairobi.

The place of cool waters.

The city in the sun.

This entry was published on April 16, 2011 at 2:21 am and is filed under Chatter, Issues, The time I lost my Sony, This Is Africa, T.I.A.. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Where I’m From

  1. Kago Kagichiri on said:

    Love it!!!

  2. Natacha on said:

    wow nice work…i love it

  3. hahahah Ati KPLC stands for wat!
    Love it! I think you should continue mos def… don’t brief it!

What do you think?

