[1000 words + 1]

Learning to Listen

Last weekend was Fall Break, the first ever in my college years – we recently shifted to semesters from quarters so I’m only now beginning to enjoy all those mid-term breaks. I signed myself up for a spiritual retreat of sorts for the weekend.

Metanoia means a direct knowing of God.  For some who go on these trips that is precisely what happens.  When you spend many hours alone in the wilderness with a heart that’s affirming the reality of God guidance – amazing things can happen.

The description really drew me in, plus the campus-wide email said that it was going to be all about “listening.” I kinda liked that; taking a break from everything, just to listen.

That and many other things like adding another state to my “Been there, done that” list.

I’ll be lying if I said I wasn’t a little bit worried – I’m not an outdoorsy girl. I’m not a sleep-outdoors kinda girl. Camping for three nights in the wild with nothing but flimsy canvas to protect me from the critters and wild animals- honestly, the stuff of my nightmares.

We got there on Friday night at about 1am. I couldn’t wait to fall asleep – but when it got to morning I quickly realized how stupid I was for being scared at all. Fear’s kinda dumb that way.

The place: Warren Dunes State Park, Sawyer, MI

There’s another sign at the entrance that says something about the site being open for organizational youth groups – that’s when I realized how safe I would be. My heart stopped pounding around that point.

All in all I had a wonderful time. I didn’t get my major epiphany but I am one step closer. 🙂

Hiking through the woods to the beach.

The sand dunes to the beach = MAJOR cardio workout.

Lake Michigan

Sand everywhere!

Lake Michigan. It’s  actually that exact same blue to the eye. And freezing cold. Like pins and needles cold.

6/7 hours a day on the beach for a few days and you discover a talent for rock piling.

My journal and Margaret Ogola’s The River and the Source. This book (and ugali) is probably as Jang’o as I’ll ever get being non-fluent in the language and things 🙂 I like to imagine that the characters in the book are actual members of my family. I even have an aunt called Vera. (You have to read it.)

There was a wedding photoshoot going on too.

It’s not everyday you can switch off your phone and step away from the internet just to reflect and think and discover and pray.

This entry was published on October 16, 2011 at 6:33 pm. It’s filed under Landmarks, Landscape, Places, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Learning to Listen

  1. Lovely images. I have got to read that book one day.

  2. the last few images are quiet good

What do you think?

