[1000 words + 1]

How to Make Your Noodles Awesome!

500x_olympusgetarealcamera1

This wonderful little nugget floated onto my tumblr dashboard a while ago. My first response was “I have seen people do wondrous things with two-minute noodles,” because I have. And while I would love to spend a few minutes analyzing a little bit of the snobbery of this and acknowledge that yes, people use camera app filters as crutches, I want to talk about two-minute noodles. They are cheap, quick & easy — the best combination for anyone in a rush, on a budget and/or just too lazy to get cooking. I re-discovered my love for noodles after finding a bunch of hacks to make them delicious. Especially during winter, I get lazy to put on clothes just to make the 5-minute walk to the dining room, and so on many days, I appreciate being able to step downstairs to the kitchen to boil some water, while still in my PJs. A friend of mine introduced me to this recipe for a peanut-lime vinaigrette to serve with noodles, and I promised to share it a while ago. Finally.

You will need:

1 tbsp grated fresh ginger
2 cloves of garlic, minced
1 serrano chile, stemmed, seeded, and chopped
3 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro leaves
11/2 tbsp smooth unsalted, unsweetened peanut butter
3 tbsp fresh lime juice
11/2 tbsp rice vinegar
11/2 tbsp soy sauce
11/2 tsps light brown sugar
1/4 cup canola oil
Salt, to taste (optional)

Of course, a recipe is just a guideline and you can adjust it as you’d like, ergo… I used sweetened ginger, garlic powder, dried jalapeno instead of serrano, and salted, chunky peanut butter. I skipped on the sugar, canola oil and salt.

What to do:

Put all the ingredients except the canola oil in a food processor and blend, add the canola oil slowly until mixed in. This, in my books, is put everything into a plastic bowl and use a spoon to mix it all.

IMG_3840

Now, follow the instructions on the packet to boil your noodles as you normally would, drain and skip the final step of adding the flavoring.

Serve noodles. Drizzle vinaigrette over the noodles and enjoy.

IMG_3845

Helloooooo hustle-free almost-gourmet, cheap-living.

IMG_3854

Just in case you are wondering, the blue light is TV reflection. If I am too lazy to cook anything other than noodles, best believe I will be eating in front of the TV

This entry was published on March 24, 2013 at 4:32 pm. It’s filed under Food & Drink and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “How to Make Your Noodles Awesome!

  1. I loooooooooooove it. Simple and fast.

What do you think?

